Read ’em and Weep

Inspired by the Daily Prompt: When reading for fun, do you usually choose fiction or non-fiction? Do you have an idea why you prefer one over the other?

Stemming partially from how I was raised, I see fiction as unproductive and non-fiction as productive. I don’t agree with that though! Imagination can lead to more creativity, and reading fiction can inspire that flow. When I was in school or now when I’ve got extra priorities that fill my time outside of work, I feel guilty for reading fiction. I don’t like that. It’s interesting, but my mom has always read both fiction and non-fiction; the guilt is more from a generalized pressure to be productive and worthy than that fiction is wrong.

Learning about myself is fun, so I enjoy self-help/inspirational non-fiction. I go through phases of reading fiction, and will go through many late nights of staying up to read “one more chapter.” Ann Brashares’ “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” is the last fiction I remember reading, and that was last Fall. I’m in a book discussion group on Facebook and we’re reading “Undaunted” by Christine Caine.

I have quite a few non-fiction books in my Amazon Wish List, but after reflecting on my skewed perspective of reading fiction, I’m going to include some fiction titles too. Great idea for another habit!

2 comments

  1. I share a similar upbringing. For some reason, fiction has never been treated as productive in our household. That doesn’t stop me from reading it, though. Beyond textbooks, I only started reading nonfiction in the past 2 years.

    Let’s continue reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

